Episode 1 : Kidnapper (1)

It’s an entirely red wall. Even the beautiful pillars supporting the ceiling were vividly red.

The long, spread-out red curtains scattered in various places fluttered in the breeze flowing through the wide-open door. In front of the wall filled with hanging paintings, a giant golden statue of Sakyamuni Buddha looked down below.

There, Monk Noseung Hyecho was heating water for tea at the incense burner. The white eyebrows, like falling snow, hinted at the passage of many years, but the bright red face showed no wrinkles, exuding a vigorous spirit.

Hyecho, sitting in front of the statue, poured the adequately warmed tea into a cup and quietly asked the middle-aged monk Beopgang, “How is Yeorip?”

“He hasn’t fully regained consciousness yet, but fortunately, he survived. As we descended, we saw that the trees on the cliff face had broken. Probably, that slowed down the speed, reducing the impact. He received urgent treatment and is now under the care of Wonmyeong.”

“Thank Amitabha Buddha, it is truly fortunate. It seems that the Buddha’s gaze has been upon him.”

Hyecho nodded with relief, and wisps of steam rose from the teacup as he gently blew on it. “However, why was that child in the Repentance Hall?”

“I really don’t know about that. It’s quite far from Yeorip’s residence.”

“hmm”

Repentance Hall (慙悔洞). A natural cliff with one hundred openings drilled into the underground.

That place seemed like a natural prison, as if the heavens had drilled openings to confine sinners.

The only way out is where the sky is visible, but even that has been sealed with the barrier of exorcism. Once you enter, there’s no way to escape.

And this natural prison had only one entrance in the middle. That was none other than Shaolin.

They, known as the ancestors of Jeongwon Muhak, established their foothold in the sacred mountains and continued a long and illustrious history spanning various generations.

Usually practicing Buddhism, those among them skilled in martial arts, if intoxicated by power and turned into demons, wasted no time venturing into the world to preserve peace. That was the way of Shaolin, and the Repentance Hall was the product of the peace they had safeguarded.

‘Strange things indeed. Truly strange things,’ muttered Hyecho, furrowing his brows. In response, Beopgang quietly asked, ‘Master, what troubles you?'”

[TL/N : I dont know what "Jeongwon Muhak" is, if anybody have an idea, feel free to comment.]

“It looks like we’ve got an unexpected twist,” Beopgang said with a worried look. Hyecho just smiled.

“Can you believe it?”

“Isn’t it odd? The very place our disciples watch over. How on earth did someone manage to break through their defenses?”

“And it wasn’t even a moonlit night. Why would a kid choose that spot to throw themselves into?”

As Hyecho let out a deep sigh, Beopgang chuckled awkwardly.

The disciples guarding the barrier were puzzled about how they missed the kid. They double-checked multiple times, and those on guard duty didn’t slack off or leave their posts.

Even Geumgye Seungjo, the big shot in charge of the exorcism barrier, couldn’t wrap his head around it.

Once in a blue moon, human errors happen, but the odds are pretty low. However, Jangmunin couldn’t shake off his worries.

“An unexpected twist. Finding the kid in the repentance hall—could it be some mischievous ghost business?” he wondered.

But he knew it was probably just an overly anxious thought.

“Hey Jangmunin, the last time a demon got stuck in the repentance hall was back when you were in charge.”

“Yeah, I got it. I’ve already dug through the records of the repentance hall.”

Hyunmyeong was the Jangmunin three generations ago, like a hundred years ago. According to the records from that time, the last guy trapped in the repentance hall was Yuma Hyukwonkyung, once known as the Big Bad Demon of the Ancient Gold.

We don’t know the details of how they didn’t kill him despite causing chaos in the central region, but the records say they cut his limbs, sealed his acupoints, and threw him into the repentance hall.

That went down a hundred years ago.

“Since everyone’s got a set lifespan, it’s impossible for him to still be kickin’ after hitting seventy back then. Still, I can’t shake off the worry.

How many crazy things happen in the martial arts world? Plus, this Yuma Hyukwonkyung guy was known for some weird skills beyond just martial arts.”

Hyecho was troubled by these records all along.

“Jangmunin, I’ve carefully examined Yeorip’s body.”

“Oh, really?”

“Yeah, I checked with my disciples inside the repentance hall, and there was nothing. There were no traces of anyone laying a hand on the kid’s body. If there was any unexpected connection, I’d know, being the one who treated him.”

“Amitabha Buddha, if you say so, I believe you,” Beopgang said as Hyecho, still seeming uneasy, let out a deep sigh.

A hint of melancholy flickered across Beopgang’s expression. Maybe worrying too much ages a person?

Now that time has passed, one became the Jangmunin, and the other became an elder. Yet, once upon a time, they had a teacher-disciple relationship.

Despite striving to move away from worldly connections and pursue enlightenment, how could one completely break free from the ties when they were humans who hadn’t become Buddhas?

Seeing Hyecho, the teacher of teachers, now more troubled than before, Beopgang felt uneasy, sensing signs of weakening resolve.

“Someday, I’ll have to accept my teacher’s funeral rites, but I’m not mentally prepared for it yet.”

Trying to shift the conversation, the suddenly somber Beopgang said, “Anyway, I’m not sure if it’s going to be okay.”

“What do you mean?”

“Yeorip is more talented than the disciples at Janggyeonggak, but isn’t he quite introverted?”

“True.”

“Heard the news from Cheongeumbang, didn’t you? Although it’s natural for him to be cleared of false charges, considering that Sanggye might face hidden dangers different from those apparent, especially after the recent incident, it worries me.”

Hyecho, silently listening to Beopgang, smiles at him. How could a teacher not understand their disciple’s heart? He reads the concern in Beopgang’s eyes.

Should he poke fun at him a bit? “It’ll be okay. Isn’t he a bit brave, despite his appearances? And I’ll only be relieved if you send him off in good health, so take good care of him until the day he leaves.”

“Yes, Jangmunin.”

Beopgang politely bowed and stepped back. However, the expression on his face wasn’t bright.

He worries so much… Lately, it seems he’s frequently catching colds.

Beopgang, with the thought of relieving Hyecho’s concerns, changed his direction with determination. Yeorip needed to recover quickly, if only to ease the worries of his mentor.

=======

Shaolin’s infirmary, dedicated to healing and home to the Medicine Buddha (Bhaisajyaguru), who alleviates the suffering of sentient beings, Yet, unlike other temple spaces, today it oddly feels bustling when it should be serene.

People of all ages, gathered without distinction, whispered anxiously as they looked at the boy lying on the mat.

“uughh..ughh “

Then, when the boy made a face and tossed around, everyone gathered, leaning in as if they had found something new.

“It looks like he’s waking up.”

“Whoa!”

“Amitabha Buddha.”

Amid the expressions of awe, the boy, with his long lashes shaking, slowly opened his eyes. But the way he did it was kind of weird.

Like a newborn baby, he blinked his eyes for quite a while. Then he stared blankly at those who gathered around him, seeking comfort.

“Yeorip! Are you awake?”

“Yeorip, how’s your body?”

“Yeorip!”

The boy’s first emotion as he looked at them was fear. Opening his eyes to find a bunch of monks staring at him was confusing. They were all smiling, which made it even scarier.

“Monks, why are you doing this to me? And why do you keep calling me Yeorip?”

I don’t know these people.

But hold on, where the heck am I? This isn’t a hospital, right? Am I, like, kidnapped? No way! Is this some crazy cult of monks or something? Notorious skinheads or whatever!

If not, why the heck am I in a place like this when I fell asleep in a hospital bed?

This is insane!

Forget understanding the situation; I needed to figure things out right away. I was already living on borrowed time, waiting for the death sentence to hit me at the ripe age of thirty. Now, I get kidnapped by a bunch of lunatics while I’m sleeping. Unbelievable.

All sorts of bizarre and sinister thoughts raced through my mind.

Could these guys be in cahoots with hospitals, targeting terminally ill patients, selling their organs, or something? I mean, I’m going to die anyway, so no loose ends, right? Pretend to be a monk to avoid suspicion.

Yeah, who’d suspect a religious person? Who’d even think of it?

Ah, what the hell?

I should’ve just gone to a regular university hospital.

What’s the big deal about choosing a remote hospital when you’re on the brink of death?

Even though my body’s giving up, I don’t want to kick the bucket in some creepy way.

“Hey, guys, you probably don’t know this, but my organs are almost useless, the doctor said. There’s hardly anything worth salvaging,” I said, expressing my heartfelt emotions with tears in my eyes.

“Oh, please…”

Damn it!

No voice comes out.

I’m left with no choice but to make the most pitiful expression possible.

“This guy, yeah, yeah, I get it. You’re grateful that you’ve been given a second chance at life. How touching.” Misunderstood. Totally misunderstood.

“This is just me begging for my life because I’m terrified of you guys, okay? No, let’s be real. Maybe it’s not a kidnapping. First, get up…”

But my body wouldn’t move.

Arms and legs were as stiff as if they were tied up with something.

Insane. This is definitely a kidnapping.

They wouldn’t tie someone up like this unless they were trying to prevent them from escaping!

“Amitabha Buddha, what the Buddha has bestowed upon us.”

Someone sighed with relief, and someone laughed.

Hey, you bastards!

Don’t bring Buddha into the topic of kidnapping!

I wanted to shout, but my voice echoed only within my throat without making it outside. That’s when it happened. A booming voice filled the room.

“Oh! Why is it so noisy here?”

“Reverend Beopgang! Yeorip is awake, finally woke up.”

“What’s all this commotion for? Do you not understand that a patient’s room should be peaceful? And if he’s awake, he should quickly check his condition.”

“Well, that’s true, but… hehe, I was just surprised and happy, that’s all.”

That’s when I realized.

Monks.

These damn guys even exude a sense of camaraderie that pierces the heavens.

Amidst these thoughts, a burly figure with a thunderous voice, seeming to be the owner of the reprimanding and commanding voice, approached and unexpectedly thrust his face forward.

The monk, addressed as Beopgang, had a face that exuded kindness, even at a glance.

But let’s not be deceived.

Even though he’s addressed as a monk, judging by the way he speaks, this guy is the real deal.

“Ahem.”

Beopgang, who had been observing for a moment, sat down and gently touched my wrist with a soft hand. As he closed his eyes and focused, the once chaotic atmosphere became unexpectedly serene, and everyone turned their gaze to Beopgang, as if sharing the same thought. After a while, a smile formed on Beopgang’s lips.

“Alright. Although the pulse isn’t strong, it seems like you’ve overcome the crisis. There may still be some discomfort due to lingering congestion, but with time, that too should improve. Now, there’s no need to worry.”

Upon hearing the diagnosis, the faces of the monks lit up brightly. Even scarier.

Was he a traditional doctor?

Why wouldn’t he worry?

Could it be that they were planning some experiments on my body?

Tears welled up in my eyes.

Even the Buddha seems indifferent.

Did I wait for death so patiently, only to be kidnapped by these people and subjected to pain? There is nothing I can do.

If the gods turn their backs on me, I have no choice but to survive with my own strength. I am not the Jin Yeolip you are looking for, and I don’t know what you want, but kidnapping me will get you nothing. I have no family, no money, and no remaining life.

“Uh, please save me.”

“Ha ha… to save or not to save.”

I pleaded with a squeezed-out voice, and upon seeing that, Beopgang smiled and nodded approvingly. It seemed like my pitiful expression was effective. A bit more, a bit more pitiful…

“I don’t know who you are, but I am not that kind of person.”

“In fact, I’m so sick that my insides are all rotten. Moreover, being an orphan and in a tragic situation, even if you kidnap me, there’s no one to pay for my body.”

Despite my earnest plea, Beopgang’s expression suddenly turned cold. The surrounding monks were also surprised; their eyes widened. It seemed quite unexpected.

Oh, wasn’t it like this? Wasn’t it wrong to tell the kidnapper that kidnapping is meaningless? Was it because the guys suddenly realized that I had no money? Well, what else could the kidnappers expect?

“Come to think of it, I have a bit of savings and insurance. Would that be enough?”

At the moment of negotiation, Beopgang’s pupils trembled slightly. Then another monk of similar age next to him muttered with a surprised expression.

“Did the shock make you lose your mind?!”

Beopgang, frowning, urgently checked his head. That’s when I realized. Could it be that these guys are selling brains too?

List

Leave a comment