Chapter 4 : Now. to My Room

As I pondered the mysterious words of the light orb, I found myself standing in the middle of the town, seemingly having completed the transfer. I was now at the spawn point of the starting town, Rudie, in Ultima Online.

The graphics hadn’t remained the same since those days; they had significantly improved. I marveled at the details of the fountain. “What’s with this fountain? The graphics are incredibly detailed. How many polygons did they use?”

Amidst my unexpected appreciation for the evolution of the game, I heard a normal electronic voice.

《Conversion Bonus: Acquired Rick’s My Room Ticket》

“I’m here, I’m here, I’m here!”

I couldn’t contain my excitement and shouted loudly, attracting attention from others. Well, it was all part of the fun. I converted the acquired My Room ticket into an item and pulled it out.

“Now, my combat power was easily 500 billion, but how much island would they give me for ‘My Room’?”

To be honest, spending 530 billion (rounded down) just for My Room was something only a player like me would do. Well, Player Killing (PK) did bring in money; dropped equipment could be sold, and you could lose all your in-game currency too. Our clan didn’t have many big spenders, so the reminiscence about the past was tossed aside, and now it was all about my room.

Not knowing how to use it, I touched the ticket for now.

《Will you use the ‘My Room’ ticket?》

It seemed right. Of course, I pressed yes.

After a few seconds of pressing yes, the view went dark. It was a direct transfer. As my vision faded, I couldn’t help but feel nostalgic about the teleportation effect Sei-chan used to have. Then green spread out before me.

Wide.

That was understandable. The area around me was surrounded by a group of trees in all directions. No, there were fewer trees in the east. What were those stone pillars? The west was more like a forest than a sea of trees.

Taking in the surroundings, it was impossible to grasp the entire island’s scale. The striking feature was the stone arches piled up in places. Artificial objects that felt slightly out of place among the natural surroundings scattered around. Perhaps people lived here in ancient times, but now they were abandoned, and a sense of melancholy lingered around them.

And then,

“Clouds, aren’t they close?”

Yes, very close.

The clouds were at a distance where I could almost reach them. What does this mean? My room is usually generated in a separate space, isolated from the normal field map. In other words, the 530 billion paid might be for this vast island placed at this height. Using the map function, I noticed something.

The spawn point where I was located seemed to be at the southern tip of the island. If I ran a bit, I could reach the southernmost point.

“Alright, let’s run.”

I didn’t waste time and sprinted at full speed. The surroundings were covered in trees, but I had experience with parkour-like movements in the Ou Mountains. Running like the wind, even though my level was still 1, the speed was incomparable to real-world running. Still, back in the day, I moved more than twice as fast, and I was used to it.

While thinking about those things, I reached the southernmost point.

“I’ll pay my respects to the boundary line!”

Holding the last tree branch, I pushed my body forward. It was all blue. The clear blue of the sky and white clouds scattered here and there.

“Oh, I see.”

So, that’s why the clouds were so close. Yeah, that makes sense.

“Yeah, I understand now…”

“This place is above the sky!”

I said, pretending to be cool, and performed a final parkour-like move, diving into the clear blue.

“Falllllling!”

Even though I said that, it felt like free-falling without a bungee cord. Despite my words, I felt like I understood everything, and as I melted into the sky’s sea,

《Title: ‘Wingless Angel’ Acquired》

Are they trying to provoke me? Damn developers.

Previous|List|Next

Leave a comment