Chapter 3 : Avatar Creations

“X Day arrived.

I finished work quickly and waited at home for the installation.

That baldy is bringing me a job just before the end of work. I slammed the documents he handed me on his bald head and left at the scheduled time.

While eating the hamburger I made out of frustration towards my shitty boss, I waited for about 20 minutes until the installation was finally completed.

“Let’s go, the slow life of dreams! My own island is waiting for me!”

Raising my excitement, I put on the VR gear and lay down on the bed.

During a brief loading period, I felt my consciousness drift away.

“Checking existing data for Chronos Online.”

“Converting 20%.”

“Converting 50%.”

“Converting 70%.”

“Converting 100%.”

“Welcome to the world of Ultima Online.”

The familiar mechanical voice echoed as I opened my eyes, revealing the familiar character data screen.

In front of me was a vast sea and a boundary. The place had a name, ‘Inner Sea of the Moon,’ thanks to some analysis clan acquaintances who talked about it for hours, although I wasn’t interested.

“We will proceed with character creation based on existing data.”

The machine’s voice resonated from the sphere of light in front of me. Oh, it seems it’s calling up my character data from Chronos. I’ve been using it for 7 years, so I feel attached to it.

“Character creation completed, moving on to stats.”

Character creation was followed by setting the stats. It was comforting to see that this was also similar to Chronos.

“This place has many occupations. Although I like crafting jobs, they have a limit on the skills you can learn. Let’s go with the Traveler class; it’s a safe bet. As for skills, let’s wait until we see the island, I guess.”

Perhaps due to my familiarity with the process, I quickly finished this task. The Traveler class is suitable for those who want to enjoy various skills by sacrificing the weaknesses of their stats. It’s perfect for me.

“Adjustment of stats is complete.”

Now, all the settings are complete. Once I reach the first town, I’ll immediately open My Room and check the island. If there are any tutorial quests, I’ll do them as needed.

Planning the post-spawn actions in my head, I waited, but the transfer didn’t happen as expected. In Chronos, after the settings, you should be immediately transferred to the first town.

Staring suspiciously at the sphere of light, the voice echoed again.

“Finally, I have a question for you, the foreign traveler.”

A question? Maybe they added some new elements during the conversion.

“Traveler of the unknown, Rick, what do you wish to accomplish in this world?”

This is it—the branching between law and chaos, right?

“If you mean, ‘Do I want to bring chaos to the world or maintain order?’… I just want to enjoy this world. Adventures, crafting, everything. I just want to enjoy it purely.”

My guiding principle is always this. I started the PK clan just because it seemed fun. So now, I genuinely want to enjoy various things in this world. After hearing my answer, the sphere of light remained silent for a moment before starting to speak again.

“To purely enjoy the world… I see. That is what she likes.”

“She? Who’s she?”

Ignoring my question, the sphere of light began to shine as the moment of transfer approached.

“Welcome, Rick, to the journey to enjoy the world. I wish you the best.”

You’re completely ignoring me, huh? Oh well, I can’t even complain as my body started to shine, and at the moment of transfer, the sphere of light briefly took on a human form before I disappeared.

Inner Sea of the Moon:

According to an ancient document, it was said to be the origin of the world where the gods sat.

In a place where nothing existed or everything existed all at once, the Maiden of Light stood alone.

“The wedge of Chronos has been released. With the first death, these foreign beings will move on to the next rank.”

With a joyous or perhaps sad murmur, she spoke words that dissolved into the air.

“In the old world, Lunatia, bound to earthly hell, was quite fond of him.”

Joyful or sorrowful, the words she muttered dissolved into the air.

“Please, people, overcome the six sins.”

Those were symbols of the sins brought by humanity. Evidence of the curses that humanity should overcome, even if it means giving a second death to the one connected to the earth.

“Please.”

Please.

“Before the world is repainted with the color of calamity,”

This is a heartwarming novel, isn’t it?

Previous|List | Next

Leave a comment